Stapper_Awarded  Huckabee_Awarded

Flour Bluff and Gregory Portland ISD educators recognized.

August 24, 2010, Corpus Christi, Texas --- The Education Service Center, Region 2 (ESC-2) hosted a reception and press conference at the ESC-2 on Tuesday, August 24th at 9:00 a.m. to recognize two outstanding teachers. Veronica Stapper (pictured above left), a teacher at T.M. Clark Elementary in Gregory Portland ISD, was recognized as 2011 Regional Elementary Teacher of the Year. Beth Huckabee (pictured above right), a teacher at Flour Bluff High School in Flour Bluff ISD, was also recognized as 2011 Regional Secondary Teacher of the Year. In a separate announcement, the Texas Education Agency announced that Beth Huckabee is one of several finalists statewide being considered for 2011 Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year. The teachers shared their teaching inspirations during the press conference and were formally awarded as Regional Teachers of the Year.

The Texas Teacher of the Year is the highest honor that the State of Texas can bestow upon a teacher. Conducted by the Texas Education Agency, the Texas Teacher of the Year Program annually recognizes and rewards teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching.

Forty teachers - two from each Regional Education Service Center - are eligible for two titles, Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year and Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year. For more information about the Teacher of the Year award, go to Texas Education Agency’s website at:

Go to Corpus Christi Caller-Times news article.